Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman McCarthy Presented Five Local Students With Medal of Merit

Apr 25, 2008
Press Release

Atascadero, CA – Today, Congressman Kevin McCarthy presented the following five high school students with a Medal of Merit:

·        Mr. Robert Neely – Atascadero High School
·        Miss Elaine Phillips – North County Christian School
·        Miss Elizabeth Harper – Paso Robles High School
·        Miss Arielle Cook – Shandon High School
·        Mr. Brandon Beymer –Templeton High School

“I created this new award to honor the achievements of our communities’ best and brightest,” said Congressman McCarthy. "The Medal of Merit is meant to recognize their positive achievements and inspire all of our students to work toward their goals. By coming together and recognizing our best and brightest, I believe we help to create a positive community environment that supports the hard work of the next generation’s leaders.”

Earlier this year, high school principals were invited to select one outstanding graduating senior per school to receive the Medal of Merit. The Medal of Merit is a new award created by Congressman McCarthy to honor outstanding high school students who have demonstrated academic excellence, exemplary citizenship and leadership skills, and have earned a 3.5 GPA or higher.