Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman McCarthy Announces East Kern and Los Angeles County Merit Award Recipients

May 6, 2009
Press Release

Washington D.C. – Today, Congressman Kevin McCarthy announced the recipients of the 22nd Congressional District of California Merit Award:

Miss Makenna Evans – Boron High School
Miss Rebecca Johnson – Burroughs High School
Mr. Christopher Newby – Desert High School
Miss Amanda White – Desert Christian High School
Miss Ga Hyun (Irene) Han – Lancaster High School
Mr. Joseph Harrington – Paraclete High School
Miss Jamie Muniz – Rosamond High School

“The Merit Award honors the achievements of our communities’ best and brightest, and recognizes their positive achievements and inspires all of our students to work toward their goals,” said Congressman McCarthy.  “By coming together and recognizing these students, I believe we help to create a positive community environment that supports the hard work of the next generation’s leaders.”

Earlier this year, high school principals were invited to select one outstanding graduating senior per school to receive the 22nd Congressional District of California Merit Award. The Merit Award was created by Congressman McCarthy to recognize outstanding high school students who have demonstrated academic excellence, exemplary school citizenship, volunteerism, community service, involvement in extracurricular activities, leadership skills, and have earned a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Merit Award Presentation Ceremony:

Monday, May 11, 2009
4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Lancaster City Hall (Council Chambers)
44933 Fern Avenue
Lancaster, California